Tags

, , , , ,

Follow Me on Pinterest

I recently found a vintage recipe treasure in my house, right under my nose. Hidden in my cupboard, on the top shelf, way in the back, was a cookbook given to me by my grandmother-in-law, Rosa Roof. “The Household Searchlight Recipe Book” was published in 1931. The recipes were formulated by the Household Searchlight team and contributed by homemakers and readers of The Household Magazine.

The cookbook made me seriously giddy. It includes about a zillion recipes I plan on trying-although I think I’ll steer clear of “Creamed Brains”, thank you very much. There were also some handwritten recipes from Grandma Roof, tucked inside the pages-I can’t wait to share them with you!

But for my first recipe, I settled on Grape Pie. Grapes are on sale right now and, like the cranberry pie, I’d never heard of a pie made of grapes!  The recipe calls for the maker to skin the grapes and then cook them, run them through a sieve, and then rejoin the grapes with their skins. That seems like a lot of unnecessary work to me and besides, how the heck does one skin a grape? Since I’ve worked with cranberries in their skins for years, I decided to employ my tried and true method of cooking the berry down for pie. Here’s how I did it.

Ingredients
• 2 ½ cups grapes
• ¾ cup sugar
• 3 tablespoons flour
• 3 tablespoons melted butter
• 2 pie crusts

Instructions
Preheat oven to 425 degree. Wash the grapes and cook them in a saucepan with a tiny bit of water over medium heat, until they’ve burst.

Drain about half the liquid off. In a medium bowl, combine sugar and flour. Add grape mixture and stir. Add butter and stir. Pour into pie dish lined with crust. Cut second pie crust into strips and lay over the top in lattice formation. (You’ll see that my lattice needs a little work… but I’ll get there!)

Bake for 25 minutes. Allow to cool and serve!

Once again, the pie went quickly in my house-my girls actually asked me to pack it in their lunches. It goes well with a small scoop of ice cream or a bit of whipped cream and a few grapes for garnish. The filling tastes a bit like grape jam-yummy! Enjoy!