Tags

, , , , , , ,

Follow Me on Pinterest

For me, the task of finding creative ways of using leftover meat in new dishes is like a game! I know, I’m weird.

Lucky for me, I stumbled across a savory recipe for Turkey Hash in the “Women’s Institute Library of Cookery, Volume 3” published in 1928. This recipe is super easy, quick, and delicious. Here is the recipe, which I followed to the letter.

Ingredients
• 2 tablespoons butter
• 1/2 cup crushed crackers
• 1 small onion, sliced
• 2 cups finely chopped cold turkey
• 1/2 cup finely chopped raw potato (about one medium sized potato)
• 1/2 teaspoon salt
• 1/8 teaspoon pepper
•  2 cups of milk

Instructions
Melt the butter in a saucepan. When it gets to be slightly brown (see photo below), add the cracker crumbs and mix well.

Then add the sliced onion, chopped turkey, potato, salt, and pepper. Cook for about a minute, stirring constantly to prevent burning. Pour the milk over the whole thing, and turn the mix on low, or maybe a setting or two above low, depending on your stove. At this point it will look like this:

Cook slowly until the milk is reduced and the hash is sufficiently dry to serve. It should look like this:

Serve on buttered toast. I used sliced ciabatta which I found on the day-old bread shelf of my grocery. I buttered each slice and toasted them for about five minutes in a 425 degree oven.

My kids really liked this dish for dinner. It’s pretty hardy-one serving of four little toasts and two spoons of hash were plenty for us. And it’s a quick dish-great for rushed weeknight dinners.

