Tags

, , , , ,

I learned something new this week. Cakes don’t have to be frosted with frosting.

Revolutionary, eh?

I was searching for a unique cake to take to a cookout. I had some strawberries in the frig and I came across this gem of a cake recipe in The American Pure Food Cookbook and Household Economist, published in 1899. I love this cookbook, because it was given to me by a friend and it’s done in old-fashioned type. These silly details make me happy.

I love the font... I'm weird like that.

I love the font… I’m weird like that.

The one thing that threw me off was the meringue frosting. I had never heard of meringue on cake. But it worked-and it was fun-and it just looks cool. I might do this all the time!

The cake itself tastes like a layered pound cake. It’s rich and delicious, and the meringue frosting is a nice, light compliment.

Ingredients
• One tablespoon butter
• 1 ½ cup granulated sugar, divided
• Three whole eggs, well beaten
• Three egg whites
• ½ cup milk
• 2 cups flour
• 2 teaspoons baking powder
• 10 good sized strawberries

Instructions
Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour two circular cake pans.

Adding the flour to the wet ingredients.

Adding the flour to the wet ingredients.

Cream the butter, one cup of the sugar and the three whole eggs in a mixer. In a medium bowl, sift together the flour and baking powder, then gradually add that to the butter/sugar/eggs mixture, mixing as you add. Add the milk and mix thoroughly.

It looks like regular yellow cake from a box!

It looks like regular yellow cake from a box!

Pour the batter divided between the two pans and bake for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick places in cake comes out clean. Let the cakes cool thoroughly, for at least half an hour.

Dice the strawberries up in a small bowl and mix with ¼ cup sugar, mashing the strawberries as much as you can. Set aside.

I used a fork because it's old fashioned but you can get smoother paste by using a food processor!

I used a fork because it’s old fashioned but you can get smoother paste by using a food processor!

Line a pizza pan with parchment paper. Place one layer of cake on the parchment. Cover the layer with the strawberry mixture and then top with the other cake layer.
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. In your mixer, whip the three egg whites until soft peaks form. Add the last ¼ cup of sugar to the egg whites while the mixer is running, one tablespoonful at a time, and whip until stiff peaks form.
With a rubber scraper, spread the meringue all over the outside. Place the cake pan in the oven for five minutes, or until the meringue is brown. Watch closely!

It has a unique look, don't you think?  Keep leftovers in the refrigerator.

It has a unique look, don’t you think? Keep leftovers in the refrigerator.

And that’s it! Enjoy!

