This past weekend, we enjoyed two beautiful spring-like days in a row and I took advantage of it to start my Vintage Garden Project. Getting started is the hardest part, right??

My youngest daughter is 9 years old and still has an interest in digging in the dirt. She and I headed out with gloves and spades and hoes in hand, ready to put in the early crops.

Ella, my youngest. She's the nature lover of the family.

Ella, my youngest. She’s the nature lover of the family.

I used a shovel to turn over the dirt in one of my four raised beds. It’s positioned for partial shade/partial sun and it’s the bed in which I meant to plant the cooler weather crops like lettuce and spinach and peas. Shovel use is totally vintage, don’t you think? I mean, since I don’t have a horse and plow or one of those old-fashioned disk and plows.

Turning over the soil is good exercise!

Turning over the soil is good exercise!

The soil, which I have mulched and tended for a year, is in pretty good shape. I raked it nice and even after turning over about a foot of soil in-depth and then, we were ready to plant!

We decided to do short rows this year. We got in two rows of peas, two rows of spinach, and row of parsley, and two rows of green ice lettuce. I did not fertilize yet-I will once the seedlings appear, using one of the recipes from my vintage cookbooks.

She chose which varieties to grow.

She chose which varieties to grow.

A few hours after the planting, we enjoyed a light rain. Now do you magic, nature! By my calculations, we should have spinach and lettuce ready to eat in mid-May and peas in mid-June. I’m hungry already.  And there are lots of salad and pea recipes in my cookbooks which I’m dying to try.

Little hands are best for sowing seeds, in my opinion.  Especially when the seeds are tiny lettuce and spinach seeds!

Little hands are best for sowing seeds, in my opinion. Especially when the seeds are tiny lettuce and spinach seeds!

When the seedlings appear, I’ll let you know. And stay tuned, because when we plant the warmer weather crops, Ella wants me to put dead fish in the rows, like the Indians. That ought to smell lovely!

