Tags

, , , ,

Here is the second in my series of recipes that use leftover mashed potatoes. When I saw this, I just knew I had to try it. Who doesn’t love a good, homemade doughnut?

You cannot taste the potato in this recipe. And this makes A LOT of doughnuts, so one batch will feed a family of four plus some for breakfast.

I had two issues with the recipe. First, the dough, once mixed, is very sticky. I ended up adding another cup of flour to it on my own. I DID NOT add that into main recipe ingredients, as many factors, including weather, can affect dough constituency. I believe it is better to add flour to dough than to try to correct overly dry dough. With that in mind, have an extra cup of flour ready and add it, in small portions, until the dough is soft but still firm enough to roll. You can either add the flour in the mixing bowl or work it into the dough with your hands on the rolling surface, which is what I did.

Also, I did not have a doughnut cutter so I had a little issue with the shape. After some experimentation, I ended up cutting a large round with a parfait glass-and the hole with the champagne glass. Still, I had trouble transferring my rings to the oil and they became funny shapes but, no matter. They tasted GREAT. And nothing says homemade like food that doesn’t look professional-or at least that’s what I tell myself.

This recipe comes from Pennsylvania Dutch Cooking, published in 1935.

Ingredients
• 1 cup mashed potatoes
• 1 ½ tablespoons shortening, melted
• 2 eggs, beaten
• ½ cup milk
• ¾ cup sugar
• 2 ½ cups flour
• ½ teaspoon salt
• 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
• 1 tablespoons baking powder
• Oil for frying

Instructions

Preheat oil in a frying to 365 degrees.

Mix mashed potatoes, shortening, eggs, and milk in large mixing bowl until thoroughly combined.

The liquid mixture with the mashed potatoes in the middle. Weird, but it works.

The liquid mixture with the mashed potatoes in the middle. Weird, but it works.

In another bowl, sift sugar, flour, salt, nutmeg and baking powder together.

Flour from my mom was a Christmas present!

Flour from my mom was a Christmas present!

Add to the liquid. Dough should be soft, yet firm enough to roll (here is where you add the extra flour if you need to, gradually so you don’t add too much).

This was the widest  glass in my house.

This was the widest glass in my house.

Separate the dough in two parts and roll each out to a thickness of ¾ inch. Cut with doughnut cutter and fry to a golden brown (about 10 minutes a batch, flipping halfway through).

See what I mean by weird shapes?

See what I mean by weird shapes?

Drain on paper towels. Roll in powdered sugar or a cinnamon-sugar mixture.

They look strange, but taste awesome-and that is the whole point!

They look strange, but taste awesome-and that is the whole point!

Enjoy!!

