Tags

, , , , ,

I spent a lot of time searching for a vintage yule log recipe for the new year. Most I saw were really a chocolate jelly roll, renamed. I wanted something different. I wanted something… memorable. I found the perfect recipe, finally, in a Nestle advertisement from the 1960’s-the decade of green jello salads, fondue, and the party picnic loaf.

Yuck. For more fabulous photos of gastronomically interesting recipes from the 60's, check out this blog: http://www.badanduglyofretrofood.com/search/label/1960s%20food

Yuck. For more fabulous photos of gastronomically interesting recipes from the 60’s, check out this blog: http://www.badanduglyofretrofood.com

The ad I used is just as ugly.

I love the cutline on this ad. “Almost as easy as falling off a you-know-what.” Um, a log perhaps?

I love the cutline on this ad. “Almost as easy as falling off a you-know-what.” Um, a log perhaps?

The recipe does call for the loaf to be brushed with a beaten raw egg white. I did this for my loaf-but I am not including this step in my recipe because I don’t like the idea of endorsing the consumption of raw eggs, and I don’t feel the step is really necessary.

The log ends up looking like something not very savory but actually tastes pretty good. It is really easy to make-and would be a fun conversation piece.
And in case you are wondering, The College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia says, “The Yule Log ceremony is believed to have originated from Germanic tribes, who would burn the trunk of a Yule tree to last the twelve days of Christmas.”

Ingredients
• 1 cup Butterscotch-flavored chips
• 1/3 cup sweetened condensed milk
• ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
• 1/3 cup chopped pecans plus a 1 ½ cups pecan halves

You don't need much!

You don’t need much!


Instructions

Melt the Butterscotch chips. I did mine in the microwave, one minute at a time at 50% power, stirring between each round. (Product endorsement: if you don’t have one of these Pampered Chef Micro-Cookers, get one. I love mine-I use it all the time and they work perfectly for melting chips and such).

Stir in the sweetened condensed milk and vanilla.

Mixing the chips, sweetened condensed milk, and vanilla

Mixing the chips, sweetened condensed milk, and vanilla

Add chopped pecans and mix well.

Add the nuts!

Add the nuts!

Chill until firm enough to handle. If you leave it in the refrigerator for too long, you can pop it into the microwave for about 30 seconds at 50% power to soften it a bit.

Form into a 12 inch roll on waxed paper. Roll tightly to shape evenly.

I kept singing "Roll out the barrel" in my head while I was doing this, for some weird reason.

I kept singing “Roll out the barrel” in my head while I was doing this, for some weird reason.

Unroll and make surface lengthwise with tines of fork. Press pecan halves into roll to cover the surface.

Covered in pecan halves.

Covered in pecan halves.

Wrap in wax paper and chill for at least 2 hours.

I guess it is pretty in its own way!

I guess it is pretty in its own way!

When very firm, unroll and cut into ½ inch slices with sharp knife. Makes about 2 dozen slices. Serve and enjoy!

