Tags

, , , , , ,

Let’s be clear-I love eggs. I love them boiled, scrambled, in mousse, and baked. So don’t get the wrong idea from the inclusion of this recipe on my blog.

I must admit, though, that it was the omission of the eggs from this recipe that caught my eye as I searched for a vintage pumpkin pie recipe to share with you before the holidays. Because it uses molasses, this recipe comes out darker, slightly thicker, and richer than the modern evaporated milk and eggs version. But I thought this recipe was tastier-more rustic, less like a factory-produced bakery version. And it’s just as easy as the one you find on the side of the pumpkin can.

The recipe comes from The White House Cookbook, published in 1887. It makes one 9 inch pie. The original version reads:

Press pumpkin through a colander-to this add enough good, rich mil, sufficient to moisten it enough to fill a good-sized earthen pie plate-salt, molasses or brown sugar, ginger, cinnamon or nutmeg. Bake in a moderately slow oven three-quarters of an hour.
There is one thing I am glad to have in the modern world-canned pumpkin!

Ingredients
• One 15 ounce can pumpkin
• ½ cup heavy whipping cream
• ½ teaspoon salt
• ¼ cup molasses
• ¼ cup brown sugar
• 2 teaspoons ground cloves
• 1 tablespoon cinnamon
• 1 recipe Pie Crust For Dummies or one frozen pie crust

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

This is all you need-plus a pie crust.

Mix all the ingredients (except the pie crust, of course) in an electric mixer until well combined, scraping down the sides if necessary. Pour into pie crust.

This batter wasn’t runny like modern pumpkin pie. I didn’t have to worry about sloshing it.

Bake for 45 minutes.

Rich in color and flavor-not bland at all!

Enjoy! (I told you it was easy!)

