Tags

, , , , , ,

I think my epitaph should read: “She liked bread… all kinds.”

On a recent busy night, with a hankering for a side of bread but without the time to make a full loaf, I ran across this quick and easy biscuit recipe in the White House Cookbook, published in 1887. I halved the original recipe, and I still got two cookie sheets worth of biscuits, enough to last for several days for my family of four.

The taste reminds me a lot of Parker House Rolls-the consistency of the dough is similar-without all the work. They’re great warm out of the oven with butter or at room temperature with jam and tea!

Ingredients

• 2 cups of flour
• 1 1/2 teaspoonfuls of baking powder
• 2 tablespoons of butter, chopped
• 1 well-beaten egg
• 1 teaspoon of sugar
• ½ teaspoon salt
• ½ cup of milk

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
Mix together flour and baking powder. Mix the butter in thoroughly until it resembles course crumbs.

Everything tastes better with butter-even biscuits!

That’s the look you’re going for.

Add eggs, sugar, salt. Add the milk and mix all together quickly into a soft dough.

It should look like this before rolling.

Roll out nearly half of an inch thick. Cut into biscuits, and bake immediately for 15 minutes or until done and lightly brown.

Cutting biscuits with the cutter I inherited from my grandmother-in-law.

Delicious and super-easy!

Butter, anyone?

Enjoy!

