Tags

, , , , , ,

Earlier this spring, I had the honor and privilege of serving jury duty. Don’t groan-I highly recommend it to everyone. It was a fascinating peek into the workings of the justice system.

One of the perks for me was the lunch hour. Normally I eat at a desk, answering phones in between bites. But for a week and a half, I got to spend an hour-sometimes more-wandering around downtown Cincinnati.

On one of those lunch walks, some of my fellow jurors and I stumbled upon a quaint vintage bookstore called Ohio Books. Of course, I made a beeline to the cookbooks. The owner, an elderly man with a quiet voice, literally has a floor to ceiling area full of vintage cookbooks. I nearly didn’t make it back to court on time! But I walked away with a fascinating book entitled “American Dishes for English Tables” by Ambrose Heath, published in 1939… for $4!

I find this book to be fascinating because of American’s obsession with foreign foods-here is proof that the English want to cook like Americans! Are our dishes really all that different? And how will our staples be translated for an English audience?

For my first try, I settled on this recipe… and let me tell you, it was really delicious. If you like honey mustard chicken, you’ll like this one.

Ingredients
• Six chicken thighs, skins removed
• 6 tablespoons of butter,divided and softened a bit at room temperature
• 1 teaspoon of prepared mustard
• ½ teaspoon salt
• 1 teaspoon vinegar
• ½ teaspoon paprika
• 3 slices of bread
Instructions
Remove the skins on your chicken.

Salt and pepper the chicken and grill for 8 minutes. I used my George Foreman but if you use a regular grill, be sure to flip the chicken after 4 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Place the chicken in a baking dish that’s been greased. Mix three tablespoons of butter with mustard, salt, vinegar, and paprika. Spread a bit of this over each piece of chicken.

Shred your bread slices in a food processor until they become crumbs. Put them into a medium bowl. Melt the remaining three tablespoons of butter and mix in with the bread crumbs. Put a bit of the buttered bread crumbs over each piece of chicken, until they are all used.

Bake about a half an hour, until the chicken is done and the bread crumbs are browned. I put the baking dish on the bottom shelf of my oven for the first 20 minutes, and moved it to the top for the last 10 to avoid burning the bread crumbs.

Like I said, this was a really delicious chicken dish. I don’t know who Delmonico is… but he/she has my compliments. Enjoy!

