Tags

, , , , ,

I really need to create a section of my blog titled, “Recipes I make because they have a cool title.”

I found this gem while flipping through Mrs. Beeton’s Book of Cookery and Household Management, published in 1861. And I stopped simply because of the title. I imagined little men in kilts, eating scallops.

Silly me! Collops and scallops are not the same things. The word collop, according to Mrs. Beeton, is said to be derived from the word escalope, meaning slice. It was also used as an everyday term for veal, so it’s possible that the dish was intended to be made with veal. But the version printing in Mrs. Beeton’s book called for steak. I had two sirloins in the freezer. Thus, a dinner is born.

Ingredients
• 4 tablespoons butter
• 2 sirloin steaks or rump steaks, cut into thin slices
• ½ cup flour
• Salt and pepper and spices to taste
• 1 small onion, finely chopped
• 1 cup beef stock
• 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

Instructions
Melt the butter in a saucepan. In a plastic bag, combine the flour, salt, pepper and any spices you wish to use. Add the steak and shake until meat is coated.

Add coated meat to pan and brown on all sides. Remove from pan with slotted spoon and drain on paper towel.

Add the onion and cook until onion is translucent.

Add the stock and Worcestershire sauce. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and add the meat back in. Cover and let simmer gently for 10 minutes or until meat is just cooked, but not tough.

The recipe says “garnish with sippets”, which are toast triangles. The dish seemed kind of hearty so I took bagels, buttered the halves, cut them into triangles, and toasted them on a cookie sheet in a 400 degree oven for about 7 minutes.

I’m lucky in that my girls like steak and they really enjoyed this dish. It has a bit more depth than plain stir fried steak and onions. I hope you enjoy it!

