Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Nearly a year ago, I tried making a cucumber soup. It was green and beautiful… and it tasted totally gross. My girls and I each tried one bite-and threw the rest away (I didn’t even ask my husband to sample-he’s not big on green vegetables). I know the taste of the yucky cucumber soup had absolutely nothing to do with its color but since then, my girls and I have had an aversion to green soup.

I don’t know what possessed me to try another green soup-this time made with spinach-except that I had a bag of spinach that needed using and this recipe contained onions and potatoes and bacon-and I thought, how could a soup containing onions and potatoes and bacon taste bad?

I was right.

Not only is this soup good, it’s quick and makes a great side dish to just about any meat or fish. It comes from “Mrs. Beeton’s Book of Cookery and Household Management,” published in 1861. Here’s how you make it:

Ingredients
• 2 tablespoons butter
• 1 large onion, finely chopped
• 4 cups chicken stock
• 2 raw potatoes, diced
• 2 pounds or one bag of spinach-washed
• 1 cup sour cream
• Salt and pepper and spices to taste
• Crumbled bacon or bacon bits for garnish

Instructions

Melt the butter in a saucepan. Add the onion and cook over low heat for 10 minutes until soft but not brown.

Add the chicken stock and potatoes and cook for 15 more minutes.

Add the spinach and spices and cook for 10 additional minutes or until potatoes are tender. Pour the mixture into a food processor or blender.

Blend until as smooth as possible, about 20 seconds. Pour back into the saucepan. Add the sour cream and heat again without boiling. Spoon soup into bowls and top with bacon or bacon bits.

The soup makes about six-eight servings, depending on how much you spoon into each bowl. Enjoy!

