Tags

, , , , , ,

Confession: I have never, ever been able to recreate the magic of homemade hash browns, potato fritters, or potato pancakes. So why on God’s green Earth did I suddenly decide to go forward with this recipe? Three words: Leftover mashed potatoes.

I don’t know about you, but I can never seem to measure how many mashed potatoes to make to feed my family exactly. And once the gravy is gone, the leftovers sit there in a lump in the frig.

In the heritage kitchen, nothing went to waste and that’s the example I try to follow. Thus, I thought maybe a heritage recipe would finally be the answer to my leftover cooked potato curse.

I found this recipe in the cookbook “New Vegetarian Dishes” by Venus Bowdich (what a name!), published in 1892.

Ingredients
• 2 cups of mashed potatoes
• 1 cup plain bread crumbs
• 3 cups of flour
• 2 cups olive oil
• 2 eggs
• 2 teaspoons of herb mix (I prefer Fox Point from Penzey’s)

Instructions
Place olive oil and butter in pan, heat over medium heat. Meanwhile, mix all the other ingredients in a medium bowl.

When the oil/butter is ready for frying, form potato mixture into small patties, no bigger than the palm of your hand. Place them in the oil and let them fry on each side for about 10 minutes or until brown but not hard.

Use a slotted spoon to remove the fritters from the pan and drain on paper towels. Enjoy!

I will tell you that I first tried forming the fritters into balls but they did not cook properly. I found the flat patties to hold up to the oil/butter much better. These are so delicious! And I was so proud of myself for finally getting a potato pancake right!

