Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Follow Me on Pinterest

My mother recently gave me a treasured gift-a copy of “The Williamsburg Cookbook”, published in 1971 by the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. It’s chock full of recipes from the historic tourist attraction. She picked it up during a vacation there when I was about three years old and says she had every intention of cooking from it. Indeed, there are plenty of recipes marked with a red “x” to indicate the ones she wanted to try. But alas, life had a way of interfering and the book was long forgotten, until my recent foray into vintage recipes began.

So, when she came to visit us recently, I decided to pull the book out and try a recipe for her. We settled on Williamsburg Inn Breast of Turkey Supreme-except using chicken, because it’s what I had and you know I’m all about using what you’ve got in the frig already.

The book notes that “Chef Fred Crawford of the Williamsburg Inn considered this version of Breast of Turkey Supreme, his own, to be one of his finest entrees.” Since it’s my first recipe from the book, I can’t compare it to Chef Crawford’s other recipes. I have to say that, although I found it to be good, I wouldn’t put it into a class of fantastic tasting dishes. That said, it is easy to prepare and will please a large crowd of differing tastes, which is what my dinner turned out to be when my brother and his wife showed up to make it a family feast!

Ingredients
• ½ cup butter
• ½ cup flour
• Two cups chicken stock or canned chicken broth
• One teaspoon salt
• 1/8 teaspoon pepper (the recipe calls for white pepper, I used my mixed blend)
• One cup milk
• One cup light cream
• Eight boneless skinless chicken breasts, cooked and sliced into half-inch thick pieces widthwise (Chef Crawford’s original recipe calls for a pound of sliced turkey)
• Cooked rice or noodles

Instructions
First, prepare the chicken breasts as noted above. I pan grilled mine in olive oil and garlic.

Then I microwaved them for a bit to make sure the middles were no longer pink. After that, I sliced them into smaller pieces, like so.

In a large saucepan, melt butter and add flour, stirring until smooth with a whisk. Heat chicken stock or broth in the microwave and stir into butter-flour mixture until smooth, using a whisk again. Add the salt and pepper.

Heat the milk and cream in a separate, smaller saucepan. Pour that mixture into the chicken stock and flour combination and cook over low heat for 10 minutes, stirring often.

Serve sauce very hot over sliced meat and noodles or rice.

One side note-I added a bit of Penzey’s Fox Point spice mix to the sauce as I heated it and I think it added significantly to the taste. The sauce turned out very thin but, as I said, everyone said it was delicious. And that’s the point, isn’t it? It’s an easy dinner to make when you have surprise guests. Enjoy!

