Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Follow Me on Pinterest

I make a lot of muffins for breakfast-and dinner. They’re easy and fast and I know my kids will eat them. And muffins tend to be fluffier than biscuits-and I like fluffy!

This recipe is a new favorite of my girls-I made 12 muffins and they were gone in 48 hours-and they were asking for more! It’s fast too. I mixed it in 10 minutes and it took another 20 to bake-so by the time my little morning birds were up, and dressed and ready to eat, there were piping hot muffins waiting for them. To be fair, I had fried up the bacon the day before (I always fry extra because you never know when you’ll need a slice, or 4, for a recipe).

This recipe comes to us from “Pennsylvania Dutch Cook Book” by F. George Fredrick, published in 1935. Pennsylvania Dutch refers to immigrants and their descendants from southwestern Germany and Switzerland who settled in Pennsylvania in the 17th and 18th centuries. Here is the recipe:

Ingredients
• 2 cups flour
• 1 tablespoon sugar
• ½ teaspoon salt
• 3 teaspoons baking powder
• 1 egg, beaten
• 1 cup milk
• 1/2 cup bits crisp bacon (about 4 or 5 slices)

Instructions
Preheat oven to 425 degrees. In a large bowl, mix sugar, salt and baking powder. Add egg and milk. Add melted shortening, beating in quickly. Add bits of crisped bacon. Spoon into muffin tins lined with paper cups, filling about 2/3 of the way full.

Bake for 15 to 20 minutes.

The first thing I noticed was how beautifully puffy the muffins got. I’ve never had that result, and so now I’m vowing to add 3 teaspoons of baking powder to every muffin recipe I make.

The muffins without anything on them are rather plain tasting, so spread them with butter or, as crazy as this sounds, jam, as the sweetness is an interesting compliment to the bacon.  Enjoy!

