Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Follow Me on Pinterest

You don’t have to be a partaker of tea to enjoy this easy and versatile dessert recipe. I made two versions of this cake in my mini-Bundt pans and both turned out perfectly.

The recipe originally comes from the “Cloud City Cookbook” published in 1889. It’s actually a church compilation recipe book-filled with dozens of treasured recipes contributed by the female members of Congregational Church in Leadville, Colorado. Those church cookbooks are the best! Here are the instructions-which I followed nearly to the letter. I did have to experiment with the amount of flour as it is not noted in the original recipe. You’ll see my amount in parentheses:

Ingredients
• 1 cup sugar
• 1 tablespoon butter
• 2 eggs, well beaten
• 1 cup milk
• 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
• flour enough for pretty thick batter (2 and a half cups)
• 1 teaspoon lemon or vanilla extract (I used vanilla)

Instructions
Mix the batter. Generously grease and flour your mini-Bundt pans and put it in the oven while the oven preheats to 350 degrees. Once the oven is ready, take the pans out and pour the batter in. Pop them back in the oven and bake for 25 minutes or until a toothpick poked into the cake comes out clean. Turn the cakes out immediately onto a serving tray and dust with powdered sugar.

A few days after making this initial batch, I made a second, chocolate version for a small dinner party I was hosting. In this version, I used 2 cups of flour and half a cup of powdered baking cocoa.

When these cakes were finished, I drizzled some melted bittersweet chocolate over each, topped it with a dollop of whip cream and viola-chocolate cake dessert! Enjoy!

 

